News Centre

Read the latest media releases, announcements and social responsibility news from Teachers Mutual Bank Limited.

Teachers Mutual Bank Limited welcomes new Director to its Board

Teachers Mutual Bank Limited (the Bank) has announced the appointment of a new Director to its Board. 

Virginia Marshall, was appointed to the Board in April 2023. As the Bank’s new Director, Ms Marshall bolsters the Board’s financial and audit skill set bringing with her more than 20 years’ experience across financial services, property and asset management, and technology companies. 

Ms Marshall joins the Board having held senior roles in financial services across Australia and New Zealand including Deputy CFO for Westpac Banking Corporation’s Consumer Division and CFO of non-bank lender, Society One.

Teachers Mutual Bank Limited Chair, Maree O’Halloran AM welcomed Ms Marshall as a new Director to the Bank’s Board.  

“In addition to Virginia’s experience as a CFO, her deep interest in sustainability and a circular economy aligns with the purpose and values of Teachers Mutual Bank Limited,” Ms O’Halloran said.

“Teachers Mutual Bank Limited has a long-standing commitment to socially responsible banking and we welcome Virginia’s positive and constructive contribution as we continue the strong growth of our mutual bank.” 

Teachers Mutual Bank Limited CEO, Steve James, shared that he was pleased to have the opportunity to work with the Bank’s new Director. 

“As a B Corp Bank, welcoming Ms Marshall to the Bank’s Board is a great opportunity to work with her as part of the Board as we focus on striving to provide superior value for our members and continuing our commitment to being a leader in socially responsible banking,” he shared. 

Ms Marshall is a member of the Audit Committee at Teachers Mutual Bank Limited. 

Ms Marshall is a member of Chartered Accountants Australia and FINSIA, a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, the University of Sydney and the University of New South Wales, and an independent member of the NSW Cancer Council Risk and Audit Committee.